Web 2.0 and globalization

Dear all, I am a lecturer at Technical University - Sofia, Bulgaria and in my practice I use web 2.0 technologies. Also as a researcher I am looking for new learning models which to engage and activate students. Now I am working on Web 2.0 and the possibilities for implementation of the global education behind different cultures and educational systems. Now I am interested in the answers of questions like: Which are the main characteristics of globalization in the education nowadays? How Web 2.0 supports globalization in elearning? How to design the right elearning instructional models for collaborative and self-organized learning in Web 2.0 environment?

You need to be a member of Actionable Innovations Global to add comments!

Join Actionable Innovations Global

Votes: 0
Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Hi Malinka

I agree with those who believe that Web 2.0 applications are very significant in supporting globalization in education.

I think they also offer one of the best counters to the negative attitudes towards globalization referred to by Manfred Steger in Globalization: A Very Short Introduction. Although he refers to globalization of culture more broadly I feel that his thoughts are helpful to us thinking about education in particular. Much of what we do in education shapes the social values that we hold. Steger refers to the negative hyperglobablisers who fear the creation of McWorld, a soulless, sameness everywhere. Others see that this can be a good thing if it lifts people out of poverty and promotes democratic political institutions. But frequently the impression left is totally ‘push’ by anonymous ‘others’ shaping the future.